Skip to content ↓
Claires Court

Claires Court Maidenhead

from Nursery to Sixth Form


Claires Court 1st XV rugby team won the ‘Super Rugby’ title for the first time in the competition’s 11 year history, on Wednesday 2 December.

Scott Harris, Teacher said;

“In a competition format, which mirrors its Southern Hemisphere’s namesake, the team contested a round robin league format before the top four teams took part in a semi final and then a final. Having completed a ‘perfect season’ recording six wins in six matches during the group stages, Claires Court defeated Halliford School from Shepperton to set up a final with Salesian College, Farnborough.

The final itself was a tense affair dominated by forward play and hard running. Claires Court raced into a 12-0 lead early in the first half but as the game settled down, it became apparent that Salesian College’s superior size was going to play a significant part in the afternoon’s proceedings. Claires Court defended valiantly but despite their best efforts two tries from Salesian meant that the teams went in level at half time.
The Salesian College siege continued in the second half and it seemed only a matter of time before the Claires Court line was breached. However, stoic defending and a ‘never say die’ attitude allowed them to weather the storm after defending inside their own 22 for 25 minutes, Claires Court finally managed to turn the ball over and work their way to the other end of the field. After forcing a lineout 10 metres from the opposition's line, Claires Court bundled their way over the line to score what proved to be the winning try.
The final few minutes were controlled by Claires Court before the full time whistle went on what has been a remarkable league campaign. With over half the match day squad for the fixture coming from current Year 11 pupils, the future looks very bright for Claires Court senior rugby.”


Squad: Toby Yate, Macs Rees, Jasper Giles, Tom Stalker, Thomas May, Alexei Murphy, Myles Williamson, Jack Blakeley (Vice-captain), Kieran Grey, Joe Thomas (Captain), Dan Collins, Connor Thomas, Ronan McGann, Todd Lindley, Ben Gordon, Matthew Hine, Billy Gore, Ed Axtell, Chris Rayer, Miles Peters, Isaac Challis., Ross Thorburn.

Get In Touch

Open Map